In the hamlet of Op de Stad in Ospel, a mill was built in 1869 by Peter Gans from Nederweert: De Korenbloem. Notable are the protruding parts at the top of the hull, which resemble buttresses. Several millers worked there until the mill was closed in 1948. In 1970, the mill was stripped of its sails. Two years later, the municipality of Nederweert made emergency arrangements to prevent further deterioration. It was not until 1988 that plans were made to restore the mill. During this restoration in 1989, the mill received two unique steel rods that were riveted, a rarity at the time. Since 1990, the mill has been running regularly again.
De Korenbloem is open on every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month and can also be visited by phone appointment. Make an appointment with miller Geert van Winkel by calling +31 495 633079.